Japanese 101 for Teens 13-18

June 21, 2021 to August 12, 2021Only 1 spot remaining!
8 weeks / 16 class hours
Monday/Thursday 1 hour
7:30-8:30pm Eastern; 6:30-7:30pm Central, 5:30-6:30pm Mountain, 4:30-5:30pm Pacific

Instructor: Tamaki
Location: Online via Zoom
Level: Beginner
Age: 13-18
Class Size: Minimum 2 students; Maximum 5 students

Materials Needed: All material will be provided.

What can I expect to learn?
By the end of this course, you should be comfortable with the following:
Introductions, greetings/farewells, asking for and talking about basic information and questions, talking about schedules, talking about your day or things you did in the past or will do in the future, talking about price and asking the cost of things, talking about weather, Hiragana/Katakana for writing and reading names, any grammar related to above topics.

Cost: $250

Payments options are as follows:
Pay in full today: $250
Hold your spot and pay the rest by June 19, 2021: $270 ($50 deposit now. Additional $220 paid by June 19, 2021).

Payment is accepted by credit card, Venmo, Zelle, Google Pay, and Paypal.

I think this is such a great course. You get to talk to someone who speaks the language you are trying to learn as their first language. The size of the class is great because there are enough students to be able to talk and have small conversations, but there aren’t too many so that it’s hard to ask your question. Tamaki was always kind and very understanding and would offer help in the best way. I would 100% recommend this course to others. – Previous student in Japanese 101 for Teens

about the instructor

Tamaki is a native Japanese speaker originally from Japan.She has a BA of Language and culture from Osaka University of Foreign Studies, a BA in Developmental Psychology from Kobe University, and a MA in Russian and Developmental Psychology from Kobe University. She also holds a certification in Teaching Japanese as a Second Language.

Tamaki worked as an adjunct professor at colleges and a university teaching classes related to developmental psychology, psychology of development disability, and child speech and language development. She also worked as a counselor to parents of children with special needs. Tamaki also spent several years teaching Russian classes at the Russia Association of Hyogo. After moving to the United States several years ago, she began teaching Japanese language classes for college students at Lewis University in Illinois and Japanese classes for adults in the continuing education program of the College of DuPage.

Tamaki continues her work with Lewis University and the College of DuPage by teaching online Japanese classes while offering private tutoring on the side via Zoom and Skype.