Japanese 日本語

Want to learn Japanese?
You’re in the right place!

Through our group classes and private tutoring, whether you’re starting from scratch or trying to pick up where you left off previously, we’re here to help! Our language lessons are customized to your needs and goals in order to help provide the best environment for success. Together we can form a plan of what will benefit you the most!
We offer Japanese lessons to all ages and all levels from beginner to advanced. We also offer tutoring for K-12 and university level Japanese language classes. We have special programs for heritage speakers, and special training for business professional language use. We also offer cultural advising for those moving overseas and local cultural experiences for those who want to learn more about Japanese culture. 
Upcoming Group Classes

Japanese 101 for Beginners – Adults
Location: Online via Zoom
Level: Beginner
16 weeks / 24 class hours
Thursdays 1.5 hours
8-9:30pm Eastern, 7-8:30pm Central, 6-7:30pm Mountain, 5-6:30pm Pacific
February 16 – June 1, 2023
Price: $290

Japanese 101 for Beginners for Teens 13-18
Location: Online via Zoom
Level: Beginner
16 weeks / 24 class hours
Tuesdays 1.5 hours
7:30-9pm Eastern, 6:30-8pm Central, 5:30-7pm Mountain, 4:30-6pm Pacific
February 14 – May 30, 2023
Price: $290

Private Lessons

Like all of our language lessons, we work with you to create a schedule and curriculum plan that works best for you!

Prices:
$40 per hour paid at the beginning of each month
Pre-paid package deals:
10 hours: $380
20 hours: $720

Contact:
Email: LaurensLanguageLessons@gmail.com
Call, Text, SMS, KakaoTalk, WhatsApp Line: 281-433-5659 (Leave a message if no answer)

Meet our Japanese Teachers:

MEGUMI

Megumi is a native speaker of Japanese from Japan. She earned a BA in English Literature from Ritsumeikan University in Kyoto and later got her certification in teaching English along with her certification in teaching Japanese as a Second Language. 

Megumi has more than 15 years of experience working for various companies including Hewlett Packard and Tyco Healthcare doing English/Japanese and Japanese/English translation.

Megumi worked as an ESL instructor for several years before turning to online Japanese tutoring and teaching. She has been working on various online platforms since 2015 to offer customized and personalized tutoring to a variety of ages and levels of students learning Japanese language and culture.

TAMAKI

Tamaki is a native Japanese speaker originally from Japan.She has a BA of Language and culture from Osaka University of Foreign Studies, a BA in Developmental Psychology from Kobe University, and a MA in Russian and Developmental Psychology from Kobe University. She also holds a certification in Teaching Japanese as a Second Language.

Tamaki worked as an adjunct professor at colleges and a university teaching classes related to developmental psychology, psychology of development disability, and child speech and language development. She also worked as a counselor to parents of children with special needs. Tamaki also spent several years teaching Russian classes at the Russia Association of Hyogo. After moving to the United States several years ago, she began teaching Japanese language classes for college students at Lewis University in Illinois and Japanese classes for adults in the continuing education program of the College of DuPage.

Tamaki continues her work with Lewis University and the College of DuPage by teaching online Japanese classes while offering private tutoring on the side via Zoom and Skype.

I studied Japanese on Zoom with Megumi-san for about a year and a half. She is a patient, thoughtful, and intelligent tutor that was a good match for a relatively-novice speaker like me!

jeff

I think [Japanese 101 for Teens] is such a great course. You get to talk to someone who speaks the language you are trying to learn as their first language, so they know everything. The size of the class is great because there are enough students to be able to talk and have small conversations, but there aren’t too many so that it’s hard to ask your question. The teacher, Tamaki, was always kind and very understanding and would offer help in the best way. She also tried to find out a little bit about us while staying on track with the lesson plan. That is a style of teaching I love. I would 100% recommend this course to others!

STUDENT IN JAPANESE 101 FOR TEENS CLASS

I worked with Megumi, my Japanese tutor the entire summer of 2021, and I feel that my experience taught me many things. In each lesson, I learned new words to study, read different passages from Japanese textbooks, and did a lot of speaking practice in which we mainly just talked in the target language about our experiences in relation to whatever lesson she taught that day. In my tutoring experience, I had looked for a type of lesson that focused on increasing my writing and speaking skills as well as reading (as I was already fairly confident with my listening). In these lessons, I got exactly what I had hoped. I was given homework for over the week til the next lesson that seemed fairly light, but it was perfect for the more laid back style I had searched for. Now that the summer is over, I have to go back to a slower self-study style, but I definitely hope to learn from her again in the future!

CHARLES

This class gives students a very basic knowledge of Japanese they would use should they be in a pinch. It also gave a foundation from which students can learn more Japanese and kana. Ms. Tamaki is easy to understand and is good at answering questions.

STUDENT IN JAPANESE 101